816.781.5055
Serving the Kansas City Area |
The Experience You Need. The Attention You Deserve.

Traffic Violations

How many points is a speeding ticket?

Can my driver’s license be suspended or revoked for accumulating too many points?

What happens if I miss my court date?

What happens if I just pay the fine and plead guilty to a speeding ticket or other traffic violation?

How do I reinstate my license if it has been suspended?

How do I get a copy of my Missouri driving record?

How do I take points off my Missouri driving record?

Can I fight my ticket if I think the police were wrong?

What can I do if I receive a ticket for no insurance just because I did not have a current proof of insurance card with me at the time?

What should I do if I caused an accident and have been charged with traffic violation?

Is texting and driving legal in Missouri?

Why is the fine more if my ticket is amended to a no-point, non-moving violation?

How much do you charge?





Q: How many points is a speeding ticket?

A Missouri speeding ticket is two points if issued by a City or County police department and three points if the ticket is issued by the State.  Refer to Missouri Department of Revenue Form 899 for descriptions of violations and points assessed.

 

 


Back to the top.

Q: Can my driver’s license be suspended or revoked for accumulating too many points?

Yes. In Missouri if you accumulate eight points in 18 months, your driving privilege will be suspended for 30 days if it is the first suspension, 60 days if it is the second suspension, and 90 days if it is the third suspension. If you accumulate 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 24 months, or 24 points in 36 months, your driving privilege will be revoked for one year.


Back to the top.

Q: What happens if I miss my court date?

In most cases if you miss your court date the Court will issue a warrant for your arrest for your failure to appear. Many times additional fines are assessed by the Court for your failure to appear. The Court will also send notification to the Missouri Department of Revenue to suspend your driver’s license. In many cases we are able to file an entry of appearance, obtain a new court date, and have the warrant withdrawn. Once the traffic charge is resolved the Court will issue a compliance letter that will allow you to apply to have your driver’s license reinstated.


Back to the top.

Q: What happens if I just pay the fine and plead guilty to a speeding ticket or other traffic violation?

Points will be assessed against your driver’s license and your insurance company will likely raise your insurance rates. If you accumulate too many points your driving privileges will be suspended or revoked.

 

 


Back to the top.

Q: How do I reinstate my license if it has been suspended?

In Missouri reinstatement of your driving privileges is a three step process. First, you must determine why your license was suspended or revoked. Second, you must resolve that issue. In most cases you will need the help of an attorney. Third, apply for reinstatement.  If your license is suspended for failure to appear at Court for a traffic violation in order to become eligible for reinstatement, you must resolve the traffic violation and obtain a compliance letter from the Court that suspended your driver’s license. Visit the Missouri Department of Revenue’s website for detailed information about the driver’s license reinstatement process. 


Back to the top.

Q: How do I get a copy of my Missouri driving record?

In most traffic cases we obtain our client’s driving record. If you would like to get a copy of your driving record on your own, you can purchase a copy of your current driver record at any Missouri license office, or call the Missouri Department of Revenue at (573) 526-2407. The basic fee for a Missouri driver record is $5.88 per driver record.


Back to the top.

Q: How do I take points off my Missouri driving record?

If you have plead guilty to a driving violation by paying the traffic ticket and had points assessed against your license, it is possible to remove the points off your driving record.  To do this we file a Motion with the Court asking that your guilty plea be set aside. If the Motion is granted, your case goes back on the Court’s docket where we can seek to amend the ticket to a no-points, non-moving violation.

 


Back to the top.

Q: Can I fight my ticket if I think the police were wrong?

Yes.  You have the right to trial before the Court to determine the facts and law of your case.  However, the costs of doing so are generally not worth it when a favorable alternative outcome of your traffic case can be easily obtained at a lower cost.

 

 


Back to the top.

Q: What can I do if I receive a ticket for no insurance just because I did not have a current proof of insurance card with me at the time?

It is common to be pulled over and find you do not have a current proof of insurance card in your glove box. If this happens, in addition to a speeding ticket or other charges you may also be issued a failure to provide valid proof of insurance.  In most cases we can obtain a dismissal of the failure to provide valid proof of insurance ticket with proof of valid insurance on the date the citation was issued.


Back to the top.

Q: What should I do if I caused an accident and have been charged with traffic violation?

Accidents happen. The most important aspect of defending a traffic citation where you have caused the accident is avoiding pleading guilty to any charge that could be used to against you as an admission of liability. This is especially important if the accident results in a personal injury lawsuit being  filed against you. In most cases a favorable disposition can be obtained with proof that your insurance carrier has paid all damages related to the accident claim.


Back to the top.

Q: Is texting and driving legal in Missouri?

If you are under the age of 21, texting and driving is illegal and will result in a two-point violation


Back to the top.

Q: Why is the fine more if my ticket is amended to a no-point, non-moving violation?

In almost all cases the fine for an amendment to a no-points, non-moving violation is more than the fine listed on your ticket.  We have no control over this as Courts set the amount of their fines. The fine amount varies from Court to Court.  In addition to a higher fine amount, Court costs are also assessed and can range anywhere from $25 to $75 per ticket.  You may be paying more upfront, but keep in mind that in the long run you will save money on your insurance premiums keeping points off your license.


Back to the top.

Q: How much do you charge?

Each case is different and Courts have different fines and costs so the amount we charge depends on the traffic violation and Court.  We have competitive pricing and can provide you with a fast quote. Call 816-781-5055 to discuss your traffic issues and get a quote.


Back to the top.




© 2017 Noland Law Firm LLC | Disclaimer
34 Westwoods Drive, Liberty, MO 64068
| Phone: 816.781.5055

Resources | Results | Practice Areas | Attorneys | Other Areas

FacebookTwitter

Attorney Website Design by
Amicus Creative